Sie sind hier: Startseite / Nutzervertretungen / Komitee Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung / Komitee / Rundschreiben / National research data infrastructure (NFDI) call for participation

National research data infrastructure (NFDI) call for participation

KFS-Rundschreiben vom 08.08.2019


Dear KFS community / KFN community,

This is a call for participation.

The DFG has announced funding for  for national research data  infrastructure (NFDI) and in response we will submit a joint project from the photon and neutron communities called

"DAPHNE - DAta for PHoton and Neutron Experiments"

The aim of the NFDI is to systematically manage scientific and  research data, provide long-term data storage, backup and  accessibility, and network the data both nationally and  internationally. Link:

For our communities we will concentrate on the following areas:

1.)  Policies, communication and cooperation with other NFDI  consortia and international partners

2.)  Dissemination and outreach, communication with user communities

3.)  Managing data during experiments

4.)  Data catalogue "Find and reuse data"

To strengthen the case we require the support of the synchrotron and neutron communities.

We invite you to participate in the proposal. If you are interested please send an email with the subject "Re: National research data infrastructure (NFDI) call for participation" to Bridget Murphy ( and Astrid Schneidewind ( stating your intention by the 11 of August.

The email should contain

1) A statement saying you wish to participate.

2) Clearly state your title, name and institute in a single line.

3) For now no further action is required. Later the spokespersons will contact you.

Best wishes,

Bridget Murphy (KFS) and Astrid Schneidewind (KFN)

For your information the following scientists and representatives of  KFS and KFN have come together to prepare the letter of intent (
you  are welcome to contact us for further information (some replies may  be delayed due to the summer holidays).


Dr. Anton Barty, DESY Photon Science,

PD Dr. Bridget Murphy, Universität Kiel,
Prof. Dr. Christian Gutt, Universität Siegen,
Dr. Wiebke Lohstroh, TU München,
Dr. Astrid Schneidewind, Forschungszentrum Jülich,
Prof. Dr. Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie,
Prof. Dr. Frank Schreiber, Universität Tübingen,
Prof. Dr. Tobias Unruh, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg,
Dr. Sebastian Busch, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht,

abgelegt unter: Forschungspolitik, KFS, Rundschreiben