You are here: Home / User Committees / Committee Research with Neutrons / KFN-awards / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize

Wolfram-Prandl-Prize for young scientist in neutron research

WPP header

Awarded by: Komitee Forschung mit Neutronen
For: Excellent work with neutrons
Candidates: Young scientists without professorship
Prize: 2500 €
Cycle: Biennially at the "Deutsche Neutronenstreutagung".
Named after: Professor Wolfram Prandl (Univ. Tübingen)

This prize for excellent work in neutron scattering was established in 2001. Important aspects for the donation are method development and fundamental physics. The prize is funded at equal shares by the facilites Hereon, ESS, FRM II, JCNS and ILL.

Call for nominations KFN prizes 2022


Dr. Sabrin Disch received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2020 for her outstanding research results for the understanding of structure, spin structure and spin dynamics of magnetic nanoparticles, their self-organisation and the resulting structures, achieved with innovative neutron scattering methods. [more]

Dr. Sabrina Disch


Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2018 for his outstanding contributions to neutron scattering studies of the phase behavior and dynamics of protein solutions. His original work has advanced the quantitative understanding of these complex systems both experimentally and theoretically. [more] 

Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge

Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2016 for his outstanding research on operando studies of Li-ion batteries, which has greatly enhanced our understanding of the fatigue mechanisms in such devices. [more] 

Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn

Dr. Marc Janoschek received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2014 for his his pioneering studies of the spin dynamics in chiral helimagnets and the development of a cryogen-free apparatus for spherical neutron polarimetry. [more]
Dr. Marc Janoschek

Dr. Dmytro Inosov received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2012 for his outstanding work on high temperature superconductors. [more - only in German] 

Dr. Dmytro Inosov

In 2008 the prize was awarded to Dr. Michael Marek Koza for his work on structure and dynamics of amorphous ice phases.

Dr. Michael Marek Koza

In 2006 the prize was awarded in equal shares to Dr. Oliver Stockert and Dr. Thomas Keller. Oliver Stockert's work has significant importance in the area of correlated electrone systems. It has received great international resonance and has often been cited. The understanding of electronic correlations is necessary for the miniaturisation of electronic components.

Thomas Keller has supplied groundbreaking results in teh area of high resolution spectroscopy, which have recently allowed to conduct qualitatively new types of experiments on the lifetime of structural and magnetic excitations. This allows improving the understanding of important phaenomena such as superconductiviy and nanomagnetism.


Dr. Oliver Stockert und Dr. Thomas Keller


In 2004 the prize was awarded to Dr. Hitoshi Endo. The Committee Research with Neutrons (KFN) appreciates his excellent work in developing twodimensional contrast variation in neutron small angle scattering and its application in the study of increasing efficiency of tensides using amphiphilic block copolymers and biomineralisation.

Dr. Hitoshi Endo

The prize was donated for the first time in 2002. The commettee had to decide among 8 proposals, all of which came from younger scientists. The winner was Dr. Mechthild Enderle because of her excellent work on low-dimensional magnetic model systems. [more]

Dr. Mechthild Enderle