You are here: Home / User Committees / Committee Research with Neutrons / KFN-awards / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2016 for Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn

Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2016 for Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn


Awarding ceremony of the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2016 at the DN2016 in Kiel.
Left to right: Prof. Dr. Winfried Petry (TUM), Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn (TUM), Prof. Dr. Tobias Unruh (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg).
Foto: Julia Siekmann, CAU Kiel

Kiel, September 21, 2016

On 21sts of September 2016 Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn (TUM) has received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2016 of the "Komitee für Forschung mit Neutronen" during the "German Neutron Scattering Conference DN2016. The prize is awarded every two years to outstanding young scientists and includesa cash prize of 2500.

The Wolfram Prandl Award 2016 is given to Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn for his outstanding research on operando studies of Li-ion batteries, which has greatly enhanced our understanding of the fatigue mechanisms in such devices. His methodological approach represents an advertisement par excellence for the importance and impact of neutron-based studies in particularly complex, multifacetted problems.

Dr. Senyshyn has established new methods, which allow spatially resolved investigations of the Li distribution in the specific components and reveal the underlying processes under normal and misuse operation. His work contributes not only to a deeper understanding of their functionality, but also enables strategies for the development of future batteries with superior properties.

Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn shares his profound knowledge about structure analysis generously with a large scientific community. He is the chair person of the Structure Group at MLZ and periodically organizes seminars for the efficient analysis of diffraction data.

The prize is named after the physicist and crystallographer Wolfram Prandl, who built up an operating base of a crystallographic institute at the neutron research reactor in Munich and who was dedicated to magnetic structure determination. From 1976, Prandl was full professor at the University of Tübingen and a highly esteemed expert on many large scale facilities in Germany and abroad. Since 2002 the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize is awarded every two years around the date of his death on September 21 to excellent young researchers without a chair.

- KFN chair:
Prof. Dr. T. Unruh
Lehrstuhl für Kristallografie und Strukturphysik
Staudtstr. 3
D-91058 Erlangen

- Contact:
Dr. Karin Griewatsch
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel