You are here: Home / User Committees / Committee Research with Neutrons / KFN-awards / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2018 for Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge

Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2018 for Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge


Photo: Awarding ceremony of the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2018 at the SNI2018 in Garching.
Left to right: Prof. Dr. Frank Schreiber (Universiät Tübingen), Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge (Lund University) and Astrid Schneidewind (TUM, KFN chair). Picture credit: Wenzel Schuermann (TUM)

Garching, September 19, 2018

Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge (Lund University) has received the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2018 of the "Komitee für Forschung mit Neutronen" during the "German Conference for Research with Synchrotron Radiation, Neutrons and Ion Beams at Large Facilities 2018" on Sept. 19, 2018. The prize is awarded every two years to outstanding young scientists and includes a cash prize of 2500 €.

The Wolfram Prandl Award 2018 is given to Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge for his outstanding contributions to neutron scattering studies of the phase behavior and dynamics of protein solutions. His original work has advanced the quantitative understanding of these complex systems both experimentally and theoretically.

His work spans an impressive range of results, with the common theme of thorough data analysis and modelling, frequently beyond standard approaches and with new theoretical insight based on careful neutron scattering experiments and the smart use of complementary methods.

Proteins are fundamentenal in biological systems, and Dr. Felix Roosen-Runge's studies are a substantial contribution to the understanding of diffusion, denaturing, phase behaviour and protein-protein interactions under various environmental conditions, highly relevant to the understanding of complex systems, as well as in-situ real-time observations of protein crystallization.

The prize is named after the physicist and crystallographer Wolfram Prandl, who built up an operating base of a crystallographic institute at the neutron research reactor in Munich and who was dedicated to magnetic structure determination. From 1976, Prandl was full professor at the University of Tübingen and a highly esteemed expert on many large scale facilities in Germany and abroad. Since 2002 the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize is awarded every two years around the date of his death on September 21 to excellent young researchers without a chair.

- KFN chair:
Dr. Astrid Schneidewind
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Außenstelle am MLZ
Lichtenbergstr. 1
85747 Garching

- Contact:
Dr. Karin Griewatsch
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel