You are here: Home / User Committees / Committee Research with Neutrons / KFN-awards / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize / Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2020 for Dr. Sabrina Disch

Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2020 for Dr. Sabrina Disch


Screenshot of Dr. Sabrina Disch's prize lecture at the online German Neutron Scattering Conference 2020, Dec. 09, 2020

Garching, Dec. 9, 2020

Dr. Sabrina Disch (University of Cologne) is the winner of the Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2020 for young scientists, which was awarded on 09.12.2020 at the German Neutron Scattering Conference (DN2020) by the German Committee Research with Neutrons (KFN). Dr. Sabrina Disch receives the 2500 Euro prize for her outstanding research results on the understanding of structure, spin structure and spin dynamics of magnetic nanoparticles, their self-organisation and the resulting forming structures, achieved with innovative neutron scattering methods.

The Wolfram-Prandl-Prize 2020 honours her research results on magnetic nanoparticles. This field is highly topical: On the one hand, it addresses fundamental challenges in the synthesis and understanding of the magnetism on the nanometer scale; on the other hand, magnetic nanoparticles have a high potential for application, for example in magnetic sensor technology, in catalysis or in medical diagnostics and therapy. Due to an extremely successfully combination of preparative work, macroscopic characterisation and X-ray and neutron scattering, it has achieved impressive breakthroughs in the understanding of structure, spin structure and spin dynamics of magnetic nanoparticles, their self-organisation and the structures that form in the process on all characteristic length scales - from atomic via nanoscopic to mesoscopic. The work is exemplary for the complementary application of synchrotron X-ray scattering and neutron methods, for the most demanding method development in research with neutrons as well as for interdisciplinary work at the border between chemistry, physics, crystallography and material sciences. In order to reach the achieved understanding, Dr. Disch had to develop highly innovative methods for each of these results, such as small and wide angle scattering on nanomaterials with polarisation analysis, scattering with a time resolution in the sub-millisecond range, or the development of in-situ magneto-rheological small angle scattering.

With the naming of the prize, the KFN wants to remember one of the pioneers of neutron scattering in Germany, Prof. Wolfram Prandl, an experimental physicist and crystallographer, whose work was characterised by an unusual depth of analysis. With his meticulous approach Prandl inspired and influenced many generations of young scientists.

- KFN chair:
Dr. Astrid Schneidewind
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Außenstelle am MLZ
Lichtenbergstr. 1
85747 Garching

- Contact:
Dr. Karin Griewatsch
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel




Filed under: KFN, Wolfram-Prandl-Preis