Dr.-Ing. Jens Gibmeier

KFS candidate 2020



Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Institut für Angewandte Materialen - Werkstoffkunde
Kaiserstrasse 12
76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49 721 608 42675


Current research focus:

  • Determination and evaluation of residual stresses in structural materials and mechanical engineering components

  • In-situ determination of mechanical stresses in heterogeneous materials with diffraction methods under mechanical and thermal stress
  • In-situ characterization of transformation kinetics and the development of mechanical stresses in fast processes (laser beam hardening, machining, arc welding) using synchrotron X-ray diffraction


In the KFS, I would stand up for:

  • Representation of the interests of the engineering sciences
  • Promotion of international and interdisciplinary cooperation
  • Access and use of complementary analytical methods on-site
  • Junior Researcher Promotionungotron X-ray Diffraction


Scientific career


Academic Oberrat and head of the department "Structural and Stress Analysis

since 02/2013:

KIT Associate Fellow

2006 – 2008:

Research associate at Hahn-Meitner-Institut Berlin, c/o Bessy II, beamline scientist Material Research Beamline EDDI


Doctorate (Dr.-Ing.) at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Kassel under Prof. Dr.-Ing. Scholtes,
Topic: The influence of load and residual stresses on the results of instrumented indentation hardness tests

1999 – 2005:

Research associate at the Institute for Materials Engineering - FG Metallische Werkstoffe - at the University of Kassel


Diploma degree II on residual stresses in functionally graded materials (working on the topic at the University of Linköping, Sweden)


Diploma degree I on mechanical methods for residual stress analysis

1991 - 1999:

Study of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering - Institute for Materials Engineering - at the University of Kassel


Memberships in boards

seit 2017:

Member of the MLZ (Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum) User Committee

seit 2017:

Member of the beamtime committee at the ESRF (Grenoble), in 'Committee C02

2014- 2019:

Member of the beamtime committee at Petra III (Desy), in board ´Engineering Materials Science´

2013- 2017:

Member of the beamtime committee of the MLZ (Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum), FRM II in board ´Material Science´