You are here: Home / User Committees / Committee Research with Synchrotron Radiation / Committee / Members / Prof. Dr. Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt

Prof. Dr. Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt

KFS member since 2014, KFS chair


JDG 150 Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Professur Chemische Technik und Katalyse
Fakultät für Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften
Engesserstr. 20
76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49 721 608 42120
grunwaldt∂kit edu

Current research focus   

  • Catalysis, surface and solid state chemistry
  • Synchrotron based operando methods with focus on X-ray absorption and emission techniques
  • Dynamics and structure-function relations of solid state materials
  • X-ray microscopy and tomography with highest resolution


In the KFS, I will stand up for:

  • Use of synchrotron light: bridge to applied disciplines, broad portfolio of methods
  • Interactions with and representation of the user community in the current use and further development of photon sources
  • Promotion of workshops and information days for networking the community and as a platform for young scientists
  • International cooperation and digitization


Scientific career

since 2010

W3 Professor of Chemical Engineering and Catalysis, Director at the Institute of Technical Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry (ITCP), KIT, with work at DESY, BESSY, ESRF, KARA, MAXLAB, Diamond, SOLEIL, APS etc.


Professor at the Technical University of Denmark, DTU, Lyngby/DK


Senior Assistant and Lecturer at the Institute for Chemical and Bioengineering at ETH-Zurich with habilitation in 2006


Project manager at the international catalyst and engineering company Haldor Topsøe A/S, Kgs. Lyngby/DK, responsible for research with synchrotron radiation


PhD, Department of Chemistry, ETH Zurich (with Prof. A. Baiker, topic: Low-temperature CO-oxidation on gold/oxide interfaces)


Diploma in chemistry, Diploma thesis in physical chemistry, University of Hamburg


More selected activities and memberships in baords

since 2020

Member of the Review Panel at ESRF as Chair

since 2019

Member of the steering committee of the German Society for Catalysis (GeCatS)

since 2018

Coordinator of the DFG priority program SPP2080 "Catalysts and reactors under dynamic operating conditions for energy storage and conversion"

since 2017

Vice chair of the German Committee Research with Synchrotron Radiation (elected member since 2014)


GeCatS-InfoDay “Synchrotron Radiation and Neutrons for Catalysis, Materials Research and Development", Frankfurt a. Main/D, 80 participants (organised with Dr. Peter Albers/Evonik))

since 2017

Member in the Science Committee (DESY, Hamburg/D)

since 2016

Member in the Review Panel of the ESRF, chair since 2020, Grenoble/F


Chair of the 16th International conference on X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAFS16), Karlsuhe/D with 600 participants


Member of the commission of the German Society for Catalysis (GeCatS)


Member of the International Advisory Board for XAFS2018 in Krakow/PL


Elected European representative at the International XAS Society

since 2010

Adjunct Professor at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU)


Karl Winnacker Stipendium of Aventis, Frankfurt a. Main, Germany


Dale Sayers Award of the International XAFS Society (IXS) at the 13. Inter-national EXAFS Conference in Stanford, CA, USA


Jochen-Block-Preis of DECHEMA, Weimar/D


Memebr of the Project Review Panel of SLS, Villigen/CH, a.o. as chairman for the area of X-ray absorption spectroscopy


Steering-Committee-Member in the SNX-Council of the Swiss-Norwegian Beamlines at ESRF, Grenoble/F


Memebr in the Project Review Panel at HASYLAB (Deutsches Elektronen-synchrotron, Hamburg)


Kékulé-fellow of the funds of the chemical industry


Scholarship holder of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes