Committee Research with Synchrotron Radiation
News from research and committee
Chairman: Prof. Dr. Stefan Eisebitt / Vice Chairwoman: Dr. Bridget Murphy
The KFS consists of the representatives of synchrotron radiation users, synchrotron radiation sources and funding institutions. It represents the synchrotron radiation users and gives advice for the future of research with synchrotron radiation.
Prototype demonstrates feasibility of building terahertz accelerators


An interdisciplinary team of researchers has built the first prototype of a miniature particle accelerator that uses terahertz radiation instead of radio frequency structures. A single accelerator module is no more than 1.5 centimetres long and one millimetre thick. The terahertz technology holds the promise of miniaturising the entire set-up by at least a factor of 100, as the scientists surrounding DESY’s Franz Kärtner from the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL) point out. They are presenting their prototype, that was set up in Kärtner’s lab at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the U.S., in the journal Nature Communications. The authors see numerous applications for terahertz accelerators, in materials science, medicine and particle physics, as well as in building X-ray lasers. CFEL is a cooperation between DESY, the University of Hamburg and the Max Planck Society. [more] [archive]

approaching deadlines:

Oct. 08, 2015: Symposium New developments in theoretical simulation of x‐ray absorption spectra: Possibilities and applications
Oct. 12, 2015: Registration deadline for Jülich Biotech Day 2015, 30.10.2015
Oct. 15, 2015: Deadline for proposals SLS, PX beamlines

Status ANKA

On April 2nd 2015, the ANKA directorate announced that ANKA will only be operated exclusively for in house research of KIT/Helmholz (LKI) and for a reduced number of weeks per year, with a perspective for outside users to continue through existing cooperations. In response to the request for information by the user community, Prof. Dr. Saile has summarized the current situation in a letter. Furthermore, the operations calendar for the remainder of 2015 has now been finalized and made public. [more] [archive]
Bulletin of the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

The following bulletin of the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is available in German only. [more] [archive]
Stefan Eisebitt is the new KFS-chair

At the constituent meeting of the 10th KFS, Stefan Eisebitt (TU Berlin) was elected as new KFS-chair. Vice chair is Bridget Murphy (Uni Kiel). The departments are: Public Relations: Andreas Schreyer (HZG), Instrumentation: Tim Salditt (Uni Göttingen) and Users: Birgit Kanngießer (TU Berlin). [more] [archive]